Journeying together in Christ

About the Anglican Church of Canada

The Anglican Church of Canada has four main levels of governance. Across Canada there are approximately 1,700 individual churches or parishes, which are organized into 30 different dioceses, each led by a bishop. The national church office is known as General Synod.

The Primate, Archbishop Fred Hiltz, is our national pastoral leader and works from the General Synod office in Toronto, Ont. The national office is divided into departments, and their work is guided by volunteer Anglicans through committees and councils. The Primate is Chief Executive Officer of General Synod.

General Synod is also the name for the national meeting of Canadian Anglicans, held every three years. Between these meetings the national church is governed by a smaller Council of General Synod that meets twice a year.

This article may be seen here on the website of the Anglican Church of Canada.

For a list of the 30 dioceses of the Canadian Anglican Church, please click on “dioceses” in the article above.

To see a map showing the 30  dioceses, and the 4 Ecclesiastical Provinces of the Anglican Church of Canada click here.


Add a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.